Home > Basic > Password

Create the password necessary to exit SiteKiosk

This page of the lets you set up the password protection for SiteKiosk. There are various configuration options including the use of a USB key.
After entering your password in the password prompt, you will be shown the Exit dialog box of SiteKiosk where you can specify whether you want to exit SiteKiosk, edit the SiteKiosk configuration or make use of various additional options.
1. Exit SiteKiosk
1.1 Escape key (ESC)
You can exit SiteKiosk by pressing the ESC key. If you have defined a password, you will be shown an Exit dialog box.
1.2 Disable keyword protection and show Close button
This option was especially designed in case SiteKiosk is used as a browser within another application, e.g. if SiteKiosk is launched from within Director or Macromedia applications.. Note that the system will no longer be protected if you turn this option on:
  1. You will no longer be able to specify a password in the Configuration Wizard.
  2. SiteKiosk's toolbar will contain a Close button.
  3. The user will be able to exit SiteKiosk by clicking the Close button or by pressing ESC without being prompted for confirmation.
1.3 Custom key combination
Instead of the ESC key you can also define a key combination here which will bring up the Exit dialog box.

The default combination is: CTRL-ALT-F8

Note:
When selecting a combination, do not pick one that is used by a different application on your machine or that is blocked by SiteKiosk.

1.4 Exit SiteKiosk automatically after X seconds of idle time
This option allows you to have SiteKiosk shut itself down automatically after a certain period of idle time (number of seconds of no mouse movements/keyboard entries). You should only turn this option on if an additional tool controls the terminal. Do not use this option in combination with shell replacement.
If the option 'Do not activate screensaver if credit available' of the advanced screensaver settings page is activated, SiteKiosk will only close when there is no credit left.

 
1.5
Special keyboards: Calling up the logout dialog box by entering a specific command

You will not have to configure this option as it is provided automatically and primarily intended for the use of special keyboards.
Some special keyboards neither have an ESC key nor keys such as the CTRL, ALT or F keys. If using such a keyboard, you can call up the password prompt by using the following command:
1.6
Touchscreens/Tablets: Calling up the logout dialog box by entering a specific gesture

You will not have to configure this option as it is provided automatically and primarily intended for the use on touchscreen terminals and tablets.
Tip on all 4 corners of the screen within 3 seconds to open the exit dialog of SiteKiosk.
In the lower left corner of the password dialog you will also find a keyboard icon to display on onscreen keyboard to type in the password.

2. Set password
2.1 Configuration password
You can use the password you specify here to exit SiteKiosk.

If the terminal is registered with SiteRemote (SiteRemote versions 3 or higher), the system alternatively prompts you to enter the user name and password of an authorized SiteRemote user and show/restrict the Exit dialog box based on the user rights you specified.

2.2 General password

Should you have forgotten your configuration password, you will still be able to use your general password to exit SiteKiosk. You will find your general password, for example, on your SiteKiosk invoice or in the email that was sent to you and contains your registration information.
This will ensure that the general password will only work with your version of SiteKiosk. For emergencies, PROVISIO keeps a copy of your license key on file.

Your general password is composed of the first eleven letters/numbers of your registration code. Here is an example:

Licensee: "Test - 1 License(s)"
Signature: "MTW7C-9W6FP-6F9RK-BDTQC-R43B2"
General Password: MTW7C-9W6FP

3. Secondary password (restricted Exit dialog box)
Use this option to set up a second, restricted Exit dialog box that can be used by additional people. You might want to consider this option, for example, if you want to allow members of your staff to only show down and restart the machine.

If the terminal is registered with SiteRemote (SiteRemote versions 3 or higher), the system alternatively asks for the user name and password of an authorized SiteRemote user and restrict the dialog box based on the user rights you specified.

The following is a list of the options you can choose from:
4. Create USB key
You have the option of transferring the registration key and the general password for SiteKiosk to a USB stick. When you plug in the stick, you can open the Exit dialog box without the password prompt while a SiteKiosk session is still in progress. This works with all machines that operate on the same SiteKiosk license.

Note that on machines registered with a SiteRemote server the USB key will not open the Exit dialog but the authentication dialog.
 
You can also use the USB stick holding the registration key to automatically register several SiteKiosk installations under the same license. Simply connect the stick to the computer and launch SiteKiosk.


5. Exit dialog box of SiteKiosk
The Exit dialog box will appear after the password was entered successfully. If the terminal is registered with SiteRemote (SiteRemote versions 3 or higher), the system alternatively prompts for the user name and password of an authorized SiteRemote user and restrict the dialog box based on the user rights you specified.

The Exit dialog box gives you the following options, some of which (e.g. the Task Manager) require additional authentication by a Windows user account with administrator rights:
  1. Exit SiteKiosk
    Be careful when using shell replacement.
    Closes SiteKiosk and shows the Windows desktop. Your SiteKiosk start settings (e.g. auto start) and auto login entries will be reset! This means that the user account will not load and SiteKiosk will not start automatically when you restart the machine. Therefore, make sure to re-configure the SiteKiosk start settings after you restart the system.
  2. Log off user (deactivate start settings)
    Logs off the user and opens the login screen. Your SiteKiosk start settings (e.g. auto start) and auto login entries will be reset! This means that the user account will not load and SiteKiosk will not start automatically when you restart the machine. Therefore, make sure to re-configure the SiteKiosk start settings after you restart the system.

    Note:
    The SiteKiosk start options always reflect the settings you applied the last time you launched SiteKiosk rather than the settings currently set.
    For instance, if you selected "Auto start" the last time you started SiteKiosk, but then closed SiteKiosk using the option "Log off user (deactivate start settings)."
  3. Log off user (retain start settings)
    Logs off the user and opens the login screen. The start settings remain as configured.
  4. Configure SiteKiosk
    Enables you to edit the SiteKiosk configuration (even when using the SiteKiosk restricted user account!).
  5. Payment module administration menu
    If enabled, the Administration menu used for the payment feature of SiteKiosk will open.
  6. Shut down computer
    Exits all applications and shuts down the computer. Your SiteKiosk start and auto login settings will be retained.
  7. Restart computer
    Exits all applications and restarts the computer (reboot). Your SiteKiosk start and auto login settings will be retained.
  8. Show debug window
    This option is used to display the Debug output window of SiteKiosk.
  9. Show log files
    Opens the current SiteKiosk log file in Notepad.
  10. Show Windows log
    Opens the Windows event logs.
  11. CMD prompt
    Opens the Windows file cmd.exe to allow command line input.
  12. Task Manager
    Brings up the Windows Task Manager.

See also



Back to top